The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving has established a $100,000 Greater Together Community Fund for the Town of East Windsor.

The purpose of the Greater Together Community Funds is to:

  • support the community in taking ownership around the needs in their towns
  • encourage broad and inclusive civic engagement and
  • anchor the Hartford Foundation in each town.

Your town has formed an advisory committee to manage a participatory process to identify your town's needs and allocate community funds.

East Windsor Greater Together Community Fund Grant Awards

The East Windsor Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee is pleased to announce the Grantees for 2023.  Twelve non-profit organizations in East Windsor were awarded a total of $28,230.62

View East Windsor's 2022 Grant Awards 

The East Windsor Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee awarded $41,000 in grants in November 2022 to eleven nonprofit organizations in the town.  

$5,000 to the EW Soccer Club to assist in the execution of an Eagle Scout Service Project which is to construct bench shelters for use at the Abbe Road soccer fields. 

$5,000 was awarded to the Library Association of Warehouse Point, Inc to build an educational garden that will highlight the dinosaur history of East Windsor through sculpture, historical information and a prehistoric plant garden.

$5,000 was granted to the EW Middle School Math Ramp class to assist with a winning design to create an outdoor lunch area.

$5,000 to the EW BMX & Skatepark Committee for the purchase of equipment to expand the current park located on Reservoir Road. This park offers a safe, approved facility for youth whose sports of choice are BMX biking and skateboarding.

$5,000 to the American Legion, which welcomes all veterans of the town, to replace the roof of their building located in the Warehouse Point section. Currently there are approximately 1,000 veterans living in East Windsor.

$4,570 to the Broad Brook Library Association, Inc to replace the deteriorating tile flooring of their building located in Broad Brook. 

$4,250 to the East Windsor Garden Club to restore the Memorial Garden located in the triangle of the Windsorville town green.

$2,776 to East Windsor Parks & Recreation. This will allow them to offer free swimming lessons at the park during the months of June through August to EW youth in an effort to increase water competency among the community and promote water safety.

$2,100 to the Connecticut Trolley Museum to replace car cards on two operating trolleys. These advertising cards will be designed by East Windsor youths to reflect current businesses and organizations in a vintage 1900’s manner.

$2,000 to the EW American Heritage River Commission for a sensory project. This project will increase the ability of sensory-impaired individuals to learn about and enjoy the Scantic River.

$500 to the East Windsor Housing Authority to be used to help meet the immediate food needs of Park Hill residents in an acute emergency situation.

View East Windsor's 2021 Grant Awards 

East Windsor’s Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee approved grants to the following groups in 2021. 

  • Abby's Helping Hand received a $7,000 grant to provide music therapy to special education students at Broad Brook Elementary School. Music therapy has been proven to improve fine motor skills, communication skills, and overall confidence for autistic children.
  • The Town of East Windsor Social Services Division received a grant of $5,600 to work with ride share programs such as UBER and LYFT to provide transportation to residents lacking transport to critical appointments for healthcare, Section 8, and Social Security, among other services. The ride share project also noted transport to grocery stores for eligible residents, expanding these individuals’ access to nutritious foods.
  • Museums on the Green, East Windsor Historical Society received a $7,000 grant to retrofit a red metal barn to display large farm equipment and showcase different aspects of farming and industry in early East Windsor. It would include antique tools, tobacco farming, potato farming, dairy farming, and cider making.
  • East Windsor Housing Authority received a $700 grant to have a licensed nutritionist provide informational presentations on the benefits of eating healthy and nutritional foods/meals. This would enable East Windsor residents to learn more about the role of one’s diet in disease prevention and mitigation.
  • East Windsor Diversity Council received a $1,500 pilot grant to organize, coordinate, and convene a community forum to explore the implications of diversity and inclusion in the community. This program aims to encourage civic engagement and involvement to ensure all East Windsor residents are represented.
  • Shag Bark Hickory Farm received $5,250 to repair a fence used for the riding arena and pasture areas. Shag Bark Hickory Farms provides equine-assisted activities to local youth, regardless of their ability to pay.

Call for Advisory Committee Members

The East Windsory Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee is seeking members that will help us maintain a diverse, inclusive membership reflective of East Windsor’s unique demographics. All East Windsor residents are eligible to apply including students or young adults ages 14+.

An advisory committee of East Windsor residents plays a lead role in deciding how East Windsor’s Greater Together Community Funds will be used. This advisory committee will identify community needs and design a grantmaking process aimed to ensure that the community funds can have the greatest impact for the benefit of town residents. Please consider joining this exciting committee!

To apply, please complete the below form and email to or mail to EW Community Fund Advisory Committee, c/o First Selectman’s Office, 10 Rye Street, Broad Brook, CT 06016.

Download the Application

Advisory Committee Members

The role of the Advisory Committee is to design and lead an inclusive process to identify the needs in your community, and design a grantmaking process aimed to ensure that the Greater Together Community Funds can have the greatest impact for the benefit of town residents.

The Advisory Committee members for your town are:

Ceil Donahue, Kim Foscolos, Vincent Hernandez, Bob Maynard, Joan Nordell, Kathy Randall, Debbie Talamini and Miki Vong

For more information about the advisory committee, please review the Advisory Committee FAQ

Click here to read the Advisory Committee Conflict of Interest Policy

For media inquiries, please contact Chris Senecal at