Leadership by and for our region.

In 1925, the founders of the Hartford Foundation designed a governance structure that would ensure leadership by individuals who are knowledgeable about the community and able to make fair decisions about complex issues. This model continues to serve the Foundation and the community well.

The volunteer Board of Directors governs the policies and grant decisions of the Foundation. Board members are appointed for a term of five years, and can serve for a maximum of two terms. The Board meets five times each year.

Board of Directors

Andrew R. Worthington, Chair

Managing Director, Wealth Management
Long River Wealth Management
UBS Financial Services, Inc.
Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2015

Dr. Mark Overmyer-Velázquez, Vice Chair

University Campus Director, University of Connecticut-Hartford Appointed by the Metro Hartford Alliance Board Chair, 2019

Marlene M. Ibsen, Treasurer

Vice President, Community Relations, Travelers, and CEO & President, Travelers Foundation Appointed by the Trustee Banks, 2017

Susan B. Dunn

Trained Interim Director for Nonprofits, Retired President of United Way
of Central and Northeastern Connecticut
Appointed by the Board Chair, United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut, 2021

Beatriz Gutierrez

President and CEO, CONNSTEP, Inc. Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2022

Sivan Hines, MD

Senior Director of College Partnerships and Scholar Success, Hartford Promise Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2022

Alan Mattamana

Partner, Fairview Capital Appointed by the Hartford Consortium for Higher Education, 2023

Richard N. Palmer

Retired Associate Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court Appointed by the Chief Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, 2016

Nicole Porter

Senior Manager, Social Impact and Partnerships, The LEGO Group Appointed by the Judge of Probate Court, District of Hartford, 2021

David M. Roth

Senior Managing Partner, SouthOcean Capital Partners Inc. Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2018

Theodore S. Sergi

Retired President and CEO, The Connecticut Science Center, and
Retired Commissioner of Education, State of Connecticut
Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2019

Our Committees

In addition to the Board of Directors, the Foundation is fortunate to have other volunteers who collectively contribute hundreds of hours of service and advice to help the Foundation in a number of areas. Listed here are the members of the standing subcommittees of the Board of Directors and special committees.


Theodore S. Sergi*
Richard N. Palmer*
Nicole Porter*


Susan B. Dunn*
Sivan Hines*
Alan Mattamana*
Robert B. Goldfarb
JoAnn H. Price


Beatriz Gutierrez*
Sivan Hines*
Marlene M. Ibsen*
David M. Roth*


Richard N. Palmer*
Susan B. Dunn*
Beatriz Gutierrez*
Mark Overmyer-Velázquez*
Theodore S. Sergi*


Marlene M. Ibsen*
Susan B. Dunn*
Alan Mattamana*
Mark Overmyer-Velázquez*
Nicole Porter*
Robert B. Goldfarb


David M. Roth*
Theodore S. Sergi*
Alan Mattamana*
Robert B. Goldfarb
David Holmgren
David Marks
Carl Peterson
Cynthia Steer
John Wright 

POLICY and STRATEGY / Expedited Grant Review

Nicole Porter*
Beatriz Gutierrez*
Sivan Hines*
Marlene M. Ibsen*
Mark Overmyer-Velázquez*


Sivan Hines*
Kenneth R. Alleyne
Ellen Andrews
James Cox-Chapman
Lucy Cox-Chapman Dagneau
Lynne Garner


Michael Miller, Crewcial Partners, LLC


Robinson & Cole LLP



Christopher Cloud
Kristen Clark
Brenda DelGado•
Nakia Hall
Katonya Hughey
Robert Ike
Bradford Meacham
Wanda Williams McCormack


Terry Schmitt, Chair
Amanda Aronson, Vice Chair
Iris Bashkin
Karen Brown
Francine Christiansen•
Kathleen Costello•
Wendy Haller
Bill McDonald
Leslie Ohta
Amy Peltier
Carol Peltier
Debbie Peterson
Renee Savoie
Ned Steiger
Ann Thomas
Bob White•
Kathy Worthington


Barbara Fernandez, Chair
Aura Alvarado
Moraima Gutiérrez
Diana Jepsen
Evelyn LaFontaine
Yvette Martas
Rita Ortiz
Rosaida Morales Rosario
Lisa Werkmeister Rozas
Jacqueline Santiago


Nicholas M. Sheridan, Chair
Patricia R. Beauregard
Jill H. Clark
Beth Duffy
John W. Eckel
Ruth Fortune
Crystal Germanese
Christiana N. Gianopulos
Suzanne S. Giuffrida
Austin S. Hersh
Denis M. Horrigan
Benjamin Kehl
Taylor C. King
Dawn Lazarus
Ryan V. Leichsenring
Greg F. Mendoza
Andrew Salak
Gregory J. Spuches, Jr.
Timothy Throckmorton
Michael Welch 


Begum Abadin
Shirley P. Boron
Glenn A. Cassis
Stacy H. Cloud
Ashley M. Coleman
Nicholas Criscitelli
Judith Dobai
Carol Dupuis
Kimberly Eadie
Dr. Eileen M. Furey
Dr. Sam Galloway
Gregory Grant
Moraima Gutiérrez
Kristen Mason Horrigan
Armando Jimenez
Harvey Kelly
David Klein
Janice Klein
Steph MacGillivary
Shantel Mallery
Gayende Martin
Michelle C. Mays
Dr. Troy A. Monroe
Susan C. Myers
Dr. Wilfredo Nieves
Christine Pandolfe
Laura A. Schuyler
Isaiah Torres
Leah N. Wade
Tyrone V. Walker
Trina N. Williams
Patricia J. Wrice 

* Member of Board of Directors
• Ex-officio

Strategic Priority Partners

The Greater Hartford Coalition on Community Safety

JoAnn H. Price, Chair

Board of Ambassadors

Our Board of Ambassadors was formed to promote broader understanding and engagement across the Foundation's 29-town region. Participating with us in discussions around key initiatives and emerging issues, these volunteer Ambassadors are essential in helping us put philanthropy into action.

Andrew R. Worthington*
Kenneth R. Alleyne
Malcolm F. Barlow
Stephen Bayer
Shaun Biggers Alleyne
Richard Brown
John F. Byrnes
Marla J. Byrnes
Francine Christiansen
Christopher Cloud
Adam P. Cohen
Britt-Marie K. Cole-Johnson
Eric D. Daniels
Mishone Donelson
Tiffany Donelson
Earl Exum
Thomas J. Filomeno
Robert B. Goldfarb
John Green
Arnold C. Greenberg
Rashid Hamid

Stacy Hurley-Cloud
Jill J. Hutensky
Lenworth M. Jacobs
Edward S. Jason, Jr.
David R. Jimenez
Dinesh Kapur
Rosy Kapur
Charlotte Kinlock
Deborah Kleinman
Steven C. Kleinman
Evelyn LaFontaine
Antoinette Lazarus
Merrill Mandell
Adam McLaughlin
John H. Motley
Joelle Murchison
Cheryl A. O'Meara
Moy Ogilvie
Michelle Parrotta
Brewster B. Perkins
Tyler Polk

Sharon Rome Reisner
Susan Rottner
Richard Rubenstein
Andrew M. Schatz
Shana Schlossberg
Hy J. Schwartz
Paula R. Silas Guy
Anne Stanback
Cecil J. Thomas
Dougie Trumble
Tom R. Trumble
Ellie W. Venneman
James R. Venneman
Fred Ward
Wyrot Ward
Nancy Wheeler
Bob White
John Wright
Eric Zachs
Jessica Zachs