The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving has established a $100,000 Greater Together Community Fund for the Town of Vernon.

The purpose of the Greater Together Community Funds is to:

  • support the community in taking ownership around the needs in their towns
  • encourage broad and inclusive civic engagement and
  • anchor the Hartford Foundation in each town.

Your town will form an advisory committee that is inclusive and reflective of all town residents, to manage a participatory process to identify your town's needs and allocate community funds.

Selection Committee Members

The role of the selection committee is to select the first Advisory Committee members and ensure that it is inclusive and reflective of all town residents.

The selection committee members for your town are:

Julia Anderson, Jennifer Buckler, Amani Clemons, Thomasina Clemons, Mary Carlson, Emily Hayes, Michelle Hill, Milton Jackson, Than Kachan Joseph, Robin Kohler, Bill Meier, Angeline McLean, Eric Osterday, Michael Purcaro, Kathy Stavens, Vicki White and Phyllis Winkler

The Vernon Selection Committee is Now Accepting Advisory Committee Applications
If you are interested in applying to serve on Vernon’s Advisory Committee, please complete the application here or download the application hereThe application is also available en español (Spanish) and اردو (Urdu).

The deadline to apply is July 31, 2020.

The completed application can be emailed to or dropped at the Vernon Police Department.

For any questions, please contact

Click here to read the Selection Committee Conflict of Interest Policy

Greater Together Community Funds Toolkits

We have created toolkits for Greater Together Community Funds participants and selection committee members. Click here to view or download the toolkits, and for frequently asked questions about funding

For media inquiries, please contact Chris Senecal at