The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving has established a $100,000 Greater Together Community Fund for the Town of Tolland. $50,000 is available over a period of years for grant opportunities that serve Tolland. $50,000 remains in a permanent endowment. Donations can be made to the Tolland fund here.

The Tolland Greater Together Community Fund aims to:

  • support the community needs of Tolland residents.
  • encourage broad and inclusive civic engagement.
  • maintain a relationship between the Hartford Foundation and Tolland. 

Announcing Call for Grant Applications

The Tolland Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee has announced an open call for grant applications. The goal is to award grants that will support programs addressing a need that improves the quality of life for the citizens of the Tolland community. Priority in grant funding awards will be given to applications that support the following:

  • The expansion of available transportation for seniors and disabled residents
  • Creative initiatives that involve high school age students.

Application timeline

  • August 15, 2022, grant application is available.
  • November 1, 2022, last day for acceptance of grant applications.
  • Mid-December, 2022, notification of grant awards.
  • Mid-January, 2023, funding becomes available.


  • Projects that primarily benefit Tolland citizens.
  • Non-profit 501(c)3 organizations that serve the citizens of Tolland.
  • Tolland individuals or groups of citizens may submit an application in partnership with a registered non-profit organization that has agreed to serve as the fiscal agent for the proposed project.
  • 509(a)3 charities and private foundations are not eligible.
  • Religious organizations can apply for projects that benefit the broader community but are not for projects religious in nature.


Grant awards are for a minimum of $250 and a maximum of $15,000. Total grant amount awarded will be $30,000.


Application can be completed directly online through the below link.
Complete the online application 

Please note: Organizations can submit only one application.

Tolland Greater Together Community Fund Grant Awards

Tolland's advisory committee announced inaugural grant awards in May of 2021. A second round of funding was recently announced to support nonprofit organizations serving Tolland residents.

Awarded organizations can use this online form at the end of their grant period to report on the use of their funds.  

View Tolland's Second Round Grant Awards (2022) 
View Tolland's Inaugural Grant Awards (2021) 
  • ALEC Through Lifeworks was awarded $1,500 to provide training to Tolland first responders for strategies that best serve individuals on the autism spectrum in a crisis situation.
  • The Lions Club of Tolland was awarded $5,000 towards the purchase of an eye screening machine to use with preschool to fifth grade students.
  • Tolland Education Foundation was awarded $3,000 to implement a First Lego League to Tolland Middle School.
  • Tolland Historical Society was awarded $5,000 to support restoration of the bell tower at the Tolland County Courthouse Museum, programs, and events.
  • Tolland Library Foundation was awarded $1,500 for the production of A Tolland Oral History project.

Call for New Members to Tolland Advisory Committee

The Tolland Advisory Committee is accepting applications for membership from interested residents from August 8 - October 1, 2022. To be eligible, you must be a resident of Tolland, at least 14 years of age and not a current elected official of Tolland. Previous experience in community organizations or grantmaking is not required. We are welcoming and encouraging interested residents to apply!

Pleae download the application (PDF document) and email completed applications to or complete the application directly online through the below link.

Complete the online application

Find out more in the Advisory Committee FAQ and Advisory Committee Conflict of Interest Policy.

Questions? Please email the Tolland advisory committee at

Advisory Committee Members

An advisory committee of Tolland residents has been formed to manage a participatory process to identify Tolland's needs and allocate community funds. The advisory committee has organized and developed a process for providing grants to nonprofit organizations that serve Tolland residents.

The Tolland Community Fund Advisory Committee members include Patrick Coffua, Chris Coleman, Carol Freedman, Jerry Griffin (co-chair), Heather McCann, Celeste Senechal (co-chair), and Peter Sartori. 

The purpose of the Advisory Committee is to:

  • learn about needs and opportunities in Tolland;
  • promote awareness to Tolland residents of community needs and opportunities; 
  • decide on priorities for funding to meet those needs;
  • recommend grants to be made from the funds set aside by the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving;
  • inspire continuing growth in philanthropic giving and volunteer service in our town; and
  • solicit contributions to fund future grant awards.

For media inquiries, please contact Chris Senecal, Senior Public Policy and Media Relations Officer at or contact the Tolland advisory committee at