The Hartford Foundation for Public Giving has established a $100,000 Greater Together Community Fund for the Town of Avon.

The purpose of the Greater Together Community Funds program is to:

  • support the community in taking ownership around the needs in their towns
  • encourage broad and inclusive civic engagement and
  • anchor the Hartford Foundation in each town.

Request for Proposals 

The Avon Greater Together Fund Advisory Committee announced an open call for project proposals in April, accepting applications until Friday, May 14, 2021. Up to $20,000 will be awarded in grant funds to one or more proposals and all projects must benefit the residents of Avon.

Questions? Please contact the advisory committe at

Background Research

The Avon Greater Together Community Fund Advisory Committee conducted research in February 2021 to identify what was important to Avon residents. 246 survey responses were collected from an online survey, and 11 residents participated in a focus group activity. The full survey and focus group reports are available here:

Advisory Committee Members

The role of the Advisory Committee is to design and lead an inclusive process to identify the needs in your community, and design a grantmaking process aimed to ensure that the Greater Together Community Funds can have the greatest impact for the benefit of town residents.

The Advisory Committee members for your town are:

Vincent Blea, Dorothy (Dee Dee) Dew, Carrie Firestone, Leslie Gordon, Haleigh Guerrera, Laura Hoffman, Gregory M. Jones, Aaradhya Kumar, Joan Monts, Maya Parady, Elizabeth Ann Pavlakis, Ursula Pfeiffer, Joseph Weist, Brian Rajcok

Click here to read the Advisory Committee Conflict of Interest Policy.

For more information about the Advisory Committee, please review the FAQ.

For media inquiries, please contact Chris Senecal at