Leadership by and for our region

In 1925, the founders of the Hartford Foundation designed a governance structure that would ensure leadership by individuals of the highest caliber who are knowledgeable about the community and able to make fair decisions about complex issues. This model continues to serve the Foundation and the community well.

The volunteer Board of Directors governs the policies and grant decisions of the Foundation. Board members are appointed for a term of five years, and can serve for a maximum of two terms. The Board meets eight times each year.

Board of Directors

JoAnn H. Price, Chair Founding Partner and President, Fairview Capital Partners, Inc. Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2010
Theodore S. Sergi, Vice Chair Retired President and CEO, The Connecticut Science Center Appointed by the Judge of Probate Court, District of Hartford, 2014
Andrew R. Worthington, Treasurer Senior Vice President, Wealth Management
Long River Wealth Management
UBS Financial Services, Inc.
Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2015
Nancy P. Bernstein President and Chief Operating Officer, Women’s Health USA;
President and Chief Executive Officer, Women’s Health Connecticut
Appointed by the Chair, United Way of Central and Northeastern Connecticut, 2013
R. Nelson Griebel President and Chief Executive Officer, MetroHartford Alliance Appointed by the chair, MetroHartford Alliance, 2016
Marlene M. Ibsen Vice President, Community Relations, Travelers, and CEO & President, Travelers Foundation Appointed by the Trustee Banks, 2017
Yvette Meléndez Retired Vice President, Government and Community Alliances,
Hartford Healthcare and Hartford Hospital
Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2005
Richard N. Palmer Associate Justice, Connecticut Supreme Court Appointed by the Chief Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, 2016
Rodney O. Powell President, Corporate Citizenship and President, Eversource Foundation Appointed by the Hartford Consortium for Higher Education, 2012
Gordon Scott CEO, Hartford West Indian Bakery Co., Inc.
DBA Scotts' Jamaican Bakery
Appointed by the Board of Directors, 2016

Volunteers that move us forward together

In addition to the Board of Directors, the Foundation is fortunate to have other volunteers who collectively contribute hundreds of hours of service and advice to help the Foundation in a number of areas. Listed here are the members of the standing subcommittees of the Board of Directors and special committees.


Nancy P. Bernstein*
Marlene M. Ibsen*
R. Nelson Griebel*
JoAnn H. Price*
Theodore S. Sergi*
Andrew R. Worthington*



Rodney O. Powell*
Marlene M. Ibsen*

JoAnn H. Price*
Theodore S. Sergi*



Andrew R. Worthington*
Nancy P. Bernstein*
Robert B. Goldfarb
Beverly P. Greenberg
JoAnn H. Price*•
Gordon Scott*



Rodney O. Powell*
R. Nelson Griebel*
Yvette Meléndez*
Richard N. Palmer*
JoAnn H. Price*•



JoAnn H. Price*•
Robert B. Goldfarb
R. Nelson Griebel*
David Marks
Yvette Meléndez*
David M. Roth
Cynthia Steer
John Wright



Michael Miller, Colonial Consulting, LLC



Theodore S. Sergi*
Rodney O. Powell*
JoAnn H. Price*•
Andrew R. Worthington*



Nancy P. Bernstein*
Ellen Andrews
James Cox-Chapman
Lynne Garner
Richard N. Palmer



Marie Spivey
Darryl Thames
Doris Arrington
Francine Austin
Charles Barfield
Andrea Comer
Tekisha Everette
Jaleith Gary
Carolyn Harris-Burney
Bongi Magubane
June Miller Rosenblatt
June Miller Rosenblatt
Joyce Willis



Kathleen Costello, Chair
McKinley Albert
Francine Christiansen•
Stacey DiPiazza
Carol Dupuis
Sara Harrigan
Debbie Javit
Clare Meade
Judy Nellen
Ryan O’Halloran
Bob White•
Ira Yellen



Nelly Rojas Schwan
Germán Bermúdez
Luis Cabán
Melvyn Colón
Moraima Gutiérrez
Evelyn LaFontaine
Estela R. López
Rosaida Rosario



Monique R. Polidoro
Jill H. Clark
Marilee Clark
John W. Eckel
Christiana N. Gianopulos
Suzanne S. Giuffrida
Shera G. Golder
Austin S. Hersh
Denis M. Horrigan
Drew M.T. Iacovazzi
William T. Johnson
Ryan V. Leichsenring
Greg F. Mendoza
Stephen Mok
Mitzchka Basman Ortiz 
Nelson J. Rodriguez
Andrew Salak
Laura Schuyler
Gregory J. Spuches Jr.
Timothy Throckmorton
Michael J. Welch



Gemma Baker
Barbara Bartucca
Shirley Boron
Stephan Christiansen
Stacy Hurley Cloud
Britt-Marie Cole-Johnson
Melvyn Colón
Nicholas Criscitelli
Judith Dobai
Carol Dupuis
TeKisha Everette
Eileen Fury
Sam Galloway
Gregory Grant
Beverly Greenberg
Robert Guenther
Moraima Gutiérrez
Kristen Horrigan
Margaret Jacobson
Harvey Kelly
David Klein
Janice Klein
Thomas Mahoney
Walter Menjivar
Harry Meyer
Susan Myers
John Norman
Richard Pinder
Tyler Polk
Sue Shepard
Kathy Steinwedell
Dougie Trumble
Magrieta Willard
Sherwood Willard
Patricia Wrice



Robinson & Cole LLP


 * Member of Board of Directors
• Ex-officio
Currently on hiatus while serving as interim president

Board of Ambassadors

Our Board of Ambassadors was formed to promote broader understanding and engagement across the Foundation's 29-town region. Participating with us in discussions around key initiatives and emerging issues, these volunteer Ambassadors are essential in helping us put philanthropy into action.

Kenneth R. Alleyne

John Alves

Malcolm Barlow

Stephen Bayer

Shaun Biggers

Rich Brown

John Byrnes

Marla Byrnes

Luis Cabán

Eleanor Caplan

Richard Cave

Francine Christiansen

Christopher Cloud

Stacy Cloud

Adam P. Cohen

Britt-Marie Cole-Johnson

Julie Daly Meehan

Eric Daniels

Mishone Donelson

Tiffany Donelson

Earl Exum

Thomas Filomeno

Meghan Freed

John Green

Beverly Greenberg

Rashid Hamid

Jill Hutensky

Lenworth Jacobs

Lynn Jacobs

Edward Jason

Medina Jett

David R. Jimenez

Dinesh Kapur

Rosy Kapur

Deborah Kleinman

Steven Kleinman

Evelyn LaFontaine

Antoinette C. Lazarus

Thomas Lips

Estela López

Jim Lyon

Kristen Marcroft

Alan Mattamana

Adam McLaughlin

David Miller

John Motley

Carle Mowell

Joelle Murchison

Kristina Newman-Scott

Moy Ogilvie

Michelle Parrotta

Brewster Perkins

Tyler Polk

Kala Prasad

Sharon Rome Reisner

Susan Rottner

Richard Rubenstein

Patricia Salner

Andrew Schatz

Hy Schwartz

Paula Silas Guy

Prasad Srinivasan

Anne Stanback

Cecil Thomas

Dougie Trumble

Tom Trumble

Fred Ward

Wyrot Ward

Nancy Wheeler

Robert White

Shawn Wooden

Andrew Worthington, Chair

Elease Wright

John Wright

Eric Zachs

Jessica Zachs

Back to Top